You Color My World – LF-SSS Flickr Co-Challenge #1

Today’s card features Prismacolor pencils on kraft and a LOT of masking…I am submitting this card to the “Get Crafty with Kraft” Lawn Fawn-Simon Says Stamp Co-Challenge on Flickr.

LF-SSS

I began my card by using the largest dies from the Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables and the Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles to cut out panels from dark blue cardstock (from the Recollections Cape Cod variety pack) and Bazzill Kraft cardstock respectively.

I stamped the globe image from Wish You Were Here a few times onto my kraft panel using Simon Says Stamp Khaki ink, taking care to mask off the globe stand each time using Scotch Expressions masking tape.  I then stamped the adorable Hedgehugs hedgehogs balanced atop the central globe (also with SSS Khaki ink).  I stamped one of the sentiments from Starry Backdrops using Versafine Onyx Black ink and again used selective masking to stamp out “color” in rainbow order using Memento Luxe inks in Love Letter, Morocco, Northern Pine, Bahama Blue, and Sweet Plum.  My Stamp-a-ma-jig was invaluable in helping me line up the letters, especially after I noticed that my initial use of Memento Luxe Dandelion and Pear Tart inks were hard to see on the kraft and I decided to stamp over those colors in Morocco and Northern Pine inks.

IMG_0018

I colored the globe and hedgehog images using Prismacolor pencils (the individual colors are listed below).  I did end up tracing over the stamped outlines of the hedgehogs with a dark brown pencil to give them more definition and also used a black Gelly Roll gel pen to trace over the eyes and noses of each hedgehog.

I diecut a heart from a scrap of red cardstock using the small heart die from the Hedgehugs Lawn Cuts and glued it to the kraft panel with Glossy Accents.  I added a coat of Christmas Red Stickles to the heart for some much needed sparkle.

The kraft panel was first adhered to the blue cardstock panel using Tombow Mono Multi Glue, and the blue panel was then popped up onto a kraft card base using Scotch foam tape.

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Recollections 65 lb Cape Cod cardstock pack, Bazzill Kraft cardstock, Prismacolor Premier pencils (Ginger Root, Light Umber, Dark Brown, Dark Umber, Spring Green, True Green, Parrot Green, Electric Blue, Mediterranean Blue, Copenhagen Blue), Gelly Roll 08 black gel pen

Leave a Reply

