Happy Birthday

So, I *finally* inked up the stamp set from the August 2014 Simon Says Stamp card kit…I wish I had used it sooner — the images were so fun to color!!  I am submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Happy Birthday) and Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge #16 (Watercoloring).

image

Lessons learned from this card:

1. I need to clean off my stamps after EVERY use when using Hero Arts Unicorn white pigment ink.  (I do not have a good fine detail white embossing powder, so I tried using Hero Arts Unicorn white pigment ink with clear embossing powder to stamp the images.  I didn’t clean my stamps after each stamping which resulted in thicker outlines with each progressive stamping and the loss of detail in the images.)

2. Plan ahead better when using vellum.  (I cut my vellum strip at 3/4″ x 4 & 1/4″ and then stamped and heat embossed over it.  In retrospect, I should have stamped and embossed first, then cut down the piece.  If I had made the strip longer, I could have folded the edges behind the card and adhered them there.  I ended up having to add sequins to the banner ends just to have something to hide my ZIG glue pen adhesive behind.)

3. The cheapie $6 Crayola Watercolor palette I bought during last year’s back-to-school sales ROCKS!!

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Paper Accents Light White Vellum, Crayola Washable Watercolors (24 colors), Size 0 detail watercolor brush, Size 1 round watercolor brush,  Meriken Double Stick Tape 7/16″

Leave a Reply

