Just Fur You

After watching (and re-watching!) Kristina Werner’s “What color is your cat?” video on YouTube, I was inspired to try out my hand at coloring my own cats, Miki and Mari.  I’ll have to practice more on getting Miki’s look right, but I think my Mari coloring came out fairly close!

image

I began by using the second smallest MFT Stitched Rounded Rectangle die to cut out three small panels from Neenah Solar White cardstock, and stamped the cat images from the MFT I Knead You stamp set using MFT Black Licorice hybrid ink and the sentment using Versafine Onyx Black ink.  I then colored in the cat images using COPIC markers (see individual colors used listed below).  I used the largest SSS Stitched Rectangle die to cut out a background panel from red cardstock and initially stamped the yarn ball images in MFT Red Hot hybrid ink to create the “anchoring strip” on the right side of the card.  Unfortunately, the images were so small that they got lost behind the white panels and it was hard to make out exactly what they were.  I decided to go for it and stamp the balls of yarn all over the background and die cut a strip of black cardstock using the largest SSS Stitched Rectangle die to anchor the cats and sentiment to the card.  I also stamped the tiny hearts from the SSS Sending Happy Thoughts stamp set to help add color and fill up the window containing the sentiment.

image  image

I am submitting this card to the current MFT Sketch Challenge (Sketch 229), Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge (X, Y, Z) (Y = yarn ball background), and Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge (Create Your Own Background).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper 65 lb black cardstock, Play Shop Paper 80 lb red cardstock, COPIC sketch markers (0, E04, E15, E31, E33, E37, R37), Meriken 1/4″ double stick tape

4 thoughts on “Just Fur You

  1. Andrea Ockey Parr says:

    This card is absolutely adorable! I think you did an amazing job with your cat-coloring. I also thought it was so clever of you to incorporate yarn balls into your background! Those stitched rectangles look great with your design, too. Excellent work and I’m so glad you shared your skills with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

