Masculine Thanks

I really struggle with creating masculine cards.  I find it so hard to resist using soft, pretty colors, flowers, or a cute critter on practically EVERY card I make.  I’m hoping that my CAS design using graphic elements and shades of blue colors translates into a masculine card…

image

I trimmed a sheet of Neenah Solar White cardstock to create two 4.25″ x 5.5″ panels.  I then used one of the hilly border dies from the Mama Elephant Landcape Trio to create a curved edge on the top panel and on one edge of a scrap of navy cardstock  from my stash.  I glued those pieces together to create a curved navy lining on the top panel.  I then die cut WPlus9’s Hand Lettered Thanks die from a scrap of Core’dinations 110 lb white cardstock before using a sponge dauber to ink over the die cut with Avery Elle Sapphire ink in an ombre fashion.

I don’t own the Fanciful Feathers stamp set, but I thought the layered chevron stamp from Avery Elle’s Bright Days resembled a feather so I used that stamp in my design.  I stamped the chevron in Avery Elle Aquamarine, Sapphire, and Sea Glass inks, making sure to stamp them at different heights and in different directions.  I adhered this stamped panel directly onto a light blue card base, then popped up the curved edge panel with Scotch Foam tape.  Finally, I adhered the thanks die cut to the top panel using a Zig glue pen (and successfully restrained from adding any sequins or Wink of Stella to the card).

I am submitting this card to the current WPlus9 Throwback Thursday Challenge (Fanciful Feathers) and the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Make It Masculine).

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Core’dinations White 110 lb Premium Cardstock, Recollections Blue Ombre 65 lb cardstock pack, Navy cardstock

4 thoughts on “Masculine Thanks

  1. Maureen Merritt says:

    This is a great masculine card. You should make a bunch, since it’s so easy to replicate. Change out the colors and sentiment you are set for a long time. Masculine cards are not easy!!! Thanks for playing along in the WPlus9 TBT Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

