Pandamonium, part two

I visualized this card design when I first viewed the Hero Arts Happy Stamp & Cut set in person at my local craft store. As soon as I saw the word “dance” I immediately thought of the adorable Mama Elephant pandas and knew I *had* to purchase this set immediately. It took me a little while to bring this card idea to life, but here it is without further ado..image

I began by cutting out 2 panels of Neenah Solar White cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangles Stackables die. I then used the fourth largest My Favorite Things Stitched Circle STAX die to cut out a window from one of the rectangle panels. I had meant to center the circle window, but the die shifted slightly on the cutting plate. I was determined to make the design work despite this, and soldiered on… I die cut the word “happy” three times — twice from white cardstock and once from patterned paper from Lawn Fawn’s Beachside 6 x 6 paper pack — and adhered them in a stack using my ZIG two-way glue pen.

I blended Broken China and Salty Ocean distress inks on the part of the back panel that would be visible through the circle window. I stamped the two “dancing” pandas from Mama Elephant’s Pandamonium using Lawn Fawn Black Licorice ink (my new favorite crisp black ink!) and die cut them with their coordinating dies. I then arranged the “happy” die on the card front and tried to determine the placement of the words “birthday” and “dance” under the die cut, but the off-centered circle was giving me issues. I finally decided to balance the card by stamping an additional panda looking up wistfully at the dancing pandas and fit in the sentiment on the bottom left corner of the card. I also added a scattering of Pretty Pink Posh sequins to complete the card.

I will be giving this card to a coworker’s granddaughter who just celebrated her 1st birthday (yay)! I am also submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Anything Goes).

Want to see more pandas?  Please click here to view my Pandamonium, Part One post.

Thanks for stopping by!!

2 thoughts on “Pandamonium, part two

Leave a Reply

