Purrfect Love

Today’s card really came together by accident…I wanted to practice coloring different kinds of cats, and had stamped out the cats from Mama Elephant’s Purrfect Pair onto a scrap of Neenah Solar White cardstock using My Favorite Things Black Licorice Hybrid ink. Due to the smaller size of the cardstock scrap, I stamped the cats in a row with every other cat being stamped upside down so I could fit more cats on the paper. In doing so, I noticed some of the cats appeared to be about to kiss — just like the upside-down kiss in the rain from the first Spider-Man movie (with Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst)! I immediately turned to YouTube to find a video of that scene and decided to make a card with that inspiration in mind…

image

The scene in the movie took place at night, so I blended Chipped Sapphire and Stormy Sky Distress Inks to create a night sky background. I cut out a panel from this blended background using the fourth largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles dies. I then created a frame for this panel using the third and fourth largest SSS Stitched Rectangles dies and black cardstock. I die cut 3 frames, stacked them, then adhered them stacked together with Tombow Mono Multi Glue.

Next, I blended the Chipped Sapphire and Stormy Sky Distress inks on another scrap of cardstock and die cut the Lawn Fawn Scripty Love from this piece. I die cut 2 more Scripty Loves from scrap purple cardstock and stacked and adhered the three words together.

Finally, I die cut a sheet of constellation patterned paper from Heidi Swapp’s September Skies 6 x 6 paper pad using the largest SSS Stitched Rectangles dies and began to assemble the elements of the card.

I first adhered the two cats to the blended Distress Ink background with Tombow Mono Multi Glue, then used a semi-inlaid die technique to fit the frames around this focal panel. (I say “semi-inlaid” because the cats’ paws hung over the focal panel. I adhered the frames over the paws because I couldn’t bring myself to trim them off!). I arranged the framed focal panel at an angle on the card front because that seemed to fit in with the Spider-Man mood of the card. I then placed the Scripty Love die cut stack in the lower right hand corner of the design and my card was complete! I just love how this card came out and hope others will recognize this iconic movie scene just as I did!!

I am submitting this card to the current SSS Wednesday Challenge (Furry Friends), SSS Flickr Challenge (Die-Cutting), and SSS Monday Challenge (Anything Goes).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper Black 65 lb cardstock, COPIC Sketch markers (C1, C3, C5, C7, 0, R20), Black Jelly Roll 08 pen

4 thoughts on “Purrfect Love

  1. smouwen says:

    What a super sweet card! Love the two kitties! So cute! Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

