Peace on Earth

The holiday season will be here before we know it, so what better time than the present to start this year’s batch of Christmas cards?  Below is the card I submitted to the (recently ended) Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge #25 (White on White with a Touch of Color).

image

I cut the card’s main panel out of Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock using the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle die. I also cut a small panel of just the bottom portion of the Stitched Rectangle to use with one of the Lawn Fawn Stitched Hillside Borders dies to create a snowy hill with stitched lines on all sides.

Next, I masked off two small areas on the main panel with Post-It tape to leave space for the star and sentiment I planned to stamp later in the project. I then used Dreamweavers White embossing paste with the Simon Says Stamp Falling Snow stencil to create the background. (I also sprinkled on Opalescent embossing powder onto the embossing paste, but forgot to prep the cardstock with my embossing powder bag beforehand…when the paste had dried I took a dry paintbrush to brush off the stray embossing powder from the cardstock, but actually ended up losing most of the powder on the paste as well!) When the paste had dried, I removed the Post-It tape masks and stamped the star and sentiment (from Paper Smooches A Blessed Christmas) in Versamark ink and then heat embossed them both using Ranger Gold Super Fine Detail embossing powder.

I die cut the Paper Smooches Cityscape 1 die out of Neenah Solar White cardstock and cut the windows out of homemade gold cardstock (made from white cardstock, Versamark ink, and gold embossing powder). I adhered the Cityscape directly to the main panel and inlaid the gold windows to complete the touch of color. Finally, I adhered the stitched snowy hill over the bottom of the Cityscape and my card was complete!

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Meriken 7/16″ double stick tape, Meriken 1/4″ double stick tape

Leave a Reply

