Celebrate

September is a month I look forward to for the beginning of the NFL regular season (go Broncos!) and the return of Simon Says Stamp’s Stamptember!! (I’ve already snagged the limited edition Lawn Fawn/Simon Says Stamp collaboration Merry Christmouse and am eagerly awaiting its arrival any day now).

I created this card for the current SSS Flickr challenge (Complementary Colors). As soon as I saw the color wheel I was drawn to blue and orange — the colors of the Denver Broncos uniforms!  [I am also submitting this card to the current SSS Wednesday Challenge (Use a Stamp and Blog Hop).]

image

image

I began by stamping out the bunny and banner from SSS Baby Party Animals using My Favorite Things Black Licorice hybrid ink. I then used a COPIC multiliner to write on the banner, added color to the images with COPIC sketch markers (see individual colors listed below), then cut out the images using the coordinating dies.

While I had my Big Shot out, I die cut the word “celebrate” from Paper Smooches’ Birthday Words 3 times from navy cardstock. I also used the two largest SSS Stitched Rectangles dies to cut out a frame from an orange patterned paper from Lawn Fawn’s Beachside 6 x 6 paper pad, then used the second largest die to cut a focal panel from Neenah Solar White cardstock. I used the smallest dies from Lawn Fawn Party Balloons to cut out balloons from Neenah Solar White cardstock, then sponged on Avery Elle pigment inks in Sapphire and Fizz.

I inlaid the white focal panel within the orange frame on a top-folding navy cardstock base. I tied black embroidery thread to the base of each balloon then adhered the two orange balloons directly to the focal panel and popped up the blue balloon with tiny foam squares. I taped the ends of the balloon strings behind the bunny then adhered the bunny and banner to the card using Tombow Mono Multi glue. Finally, I stacked the celebrate die cuts to give them some dimension and adhered them to the focal panel under the bunny.

I am thrilled that the Broncos won their game today against the Ravens and are starting their season with a “W!” That is definitely a reason to celebrate today!

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Recollections Blue Ombré cardstock pack, COPIC Sketch Markers (Bunny: 0, N0, N2, R20; Banner: YR16, YR18, Y35, B24), Joy! Crafts 2.5 x 2.5mm foam pads,  Joy! Crafts 5 x 5mm foam pads, Black embroidery thread

2 thoughts on “Celebrate

Leave a Reply

