Thank You

My card-making process usually goes something like this: mull over a card design during the work week, then spend a minimum of two hours on a weekend day off to execute the idea. (A LOT of trial and error goes on during my card-making sessions!) This week I decided to make two cards at once because I couldn’t decide on a color scheme…I really love how these cards came out and am planning to make a few more assembly line style before I take the stamps off of my acrylic blocks.

image

image

I used the second largest die from the My Favorite Things Cross-Stitched Rectangle STAX to cut out two focal panels from Canson 140 lb Cold Press watercolor paper. I then used the largest rectangle die to cut out mats from Bazzill Basics Watermelon Sensation cardstock and a teal cardstock from Recollections Blue Ombré cardstock pack.

Next, I arranged the letters from Simon Says Stamp’s Game Tile Letters on the focal panel then picked up each word with an acrylic block. I used the “X” border and my cutting mat to help me line up each word on the focal panel then stamped each word in Versamark ink, sprinkled on Simon Says Stamp White Fine Detail embossing powder, then heat set each panel.

I then “plopped” on coordinating colors from my Crayola 24 count Washable Watercolors set to add color to each tile. I initially dabbed off some of the color using a dry baby wipe, but decided I wanted a bolder look and just blobbed on each color and let the panels air dry. After about an hour, I used a dry baby wipe to gently go over the embossing areas and remove the paint that had dried over the embossed areas.

Finally, I adhered each panel to its coordinating cardstock mat, then glued each panel to a cream cardstock base. The resulting cards are on the smaller side, but I think these will be perfect to give with a little thank you/appreciation gift!

I submitted these cards to the past Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge #28 (Emboss Resist), and am also entering them into the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Anything Goes).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper cream cardstock, Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombré cardstock pack, Crayola 24-count Washable Watercolors

6 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. caryndavies says:

    Lovely design.
    Thanks for playing along in this week’s Anything Goes Wednesday Challenge at Simon Says Stamp.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

