Otter Birthday card

One of my coworkers celebrates her birthday on Halloween — so fun!!  I decided to combine one of my favorite techniques, Distress Ink blending, and the Lawn Fawn Year Five stamps and dies to make her birthday card this year.

image
First, I die cut two panels from Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Small Stitched Square Stackables die.  I blended Tumbled Glass Distress Ink onto the top half of one square, then blended Salty Ocean, Peacock Feathers, and Evergreen Bough Distress Inks onto the other square.  I used the Lawn Fawn Stitched Hillside Borders dies to cut two waves from the Salty Ocean/Peacock Feathers/Evergreen Bough panel.

Next, I stamped the otter and present onto white cardstock using Memento Tuxedo Black and Memento Love Letter inks, then colored in the images with COPIC Sketch Markers (individual colors are listed below).  I used the coordinating Lawn Cuts dies to cut out the images.

I prepped one of the ink blended waves with the EK Success powder tool, stamped the sentiment using Versamark ink, then heat embossed it with Ranger Silver Super Fine Detail embossing powder.

I adhered the wave layers onto the sky background with Tombow Mono Multi Glue, then used a ZIG 2-Way Glue Pen and DIY glue dots (created with Aleene’s Tack It Over & Over) to attach the otter and present.  Using Tombow Mono Multi Glue, I attached a 4.5″ patterned paper square to a 5″ square card base, then adhered the otter panel to the patterned paper background.  For some finishing touches, I added Fruit Punch Stickles to the present and went over the otter’s eyes and nose with a black Sakura Jelly Roll 08 pen.

I am submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge (Throwback = Love this Technique) and Wednesday Challenge (Anything Goes).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombré cardstock pack, Memento Love Letter ink dew drop, COPIC sketch markers (Otter: E35, E37, E39; Present: RV13, RV25), Fruit Punch Stickles, Sakura Black Jelly Roll 08 pen

4 thoughts on “Otter Birthday card

  1. Virginia L. says:

    OTTERLY delightful! I love the serene scene that you created with the gentle “waves”….this is just lovely! I also love the inked background with gradient effect! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Anything Goes” Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

