2015 Holiday Card Series #5: Joyful Greetings

This is the third and final Christmas card option I am submitting to my brother for the annual Christmas cards his company sends out to its clients.  He runs a real estate and property management company, so I thought incorporating a house image on the card would be fitting…

image

I began by die cutting the largest Avery Elle Gift Tags die from Canson 140 lb Cold Press watercolor paper.  I smooshed Peacock Feathers and Salty Ocean Distress Inks onto an acrylic block, spritzed the block with water, then added the inks to the tag in a “loose” house shape.

While the tag air-dried, I trimmed down a sheet of teal cardstock to 1″ x 4.25″, stamped the sentiment from Paper Smooches Joyful Greetings, then heat embossed it with Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder.  (Since my heat gun was out, I did end up using it to speed up the drying process of the tag.)

I prepped the tag with my EK Success powder tool, then stamped one of the houses and the heart smoke stack from Paper Smooches’ Bitty Bungalows onto the watercolored area in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with Liquid Platinum embossing powder.  I then threaded two pieces of 1/4″ white ribbon through the tag opening and tied them off with May Arts Silver String.

The heat embossing and watercoloring caused the tag to warp badly, so I used the Glue Glider Pro with PermaTac adhesive to adhere the tag to the grey Kraft card base.  (I also stacked a heavy acrylic block over the tag for a few minutes to ensure the tag would flatten out and stick to the card base.)  Finally, I added the sentiment strip at the bottom of the card front to complete the design.

I liked the resulting card so much that I decided to replicate the design with a different color palette.  I also changed up my process a bit — this time I did the stamping and heat embossing onto the watercolor cardstock tag first, then added Picked Raspberry and Worn Lipstick Distress Inks over the house image.  I found it was much easier laying down the color with the embossed image as a guide, and as an added bonus the tag did not warp as much as on the initial card.

image

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Recollections 65 lb Grey Kraft cardstock, Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombre cardstock pack, Bazzill Berry Sensation cardstock, 1/4″ white ribbon

Leave a Reply

