2015 Holiday Card Series #6: Christmas Blessings

This next card’s design was heavily inspired by the White Elephant Party card Kristina Werner made for Day 12 of her 2015 Holiday Card Series.  I used the color palette of the current Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge (Color Inspiration).

image

image
First, I stamped the Wplus9 Happy Mail bear onto Canson XL 140 lb watercolor paper with Versafine Onyx Black ink.  I scribbled Black Soot, Pumice Stone, Spun Sugar, and Tumbled Glass Distress Markers onto an acrylic block, then watercolored the bear, sky, and ground.  When the image was dry, I cut out the scene with the second largest SSS Stitched Circle die.  I die cut a mat for the circle using the fourth largest Sizzix Scalloped Circle out of Bazzill Cotton Candy cardstock.

I taped down a 4.25″ x 5.5″ panel of Play Shop Paper 110 lb grey cardstock to my craft sheet, then taped the SSS Large Dots stencil over the cardstock.  I used a palette knife to spread Viva Deco Ferro over the stencil but tried to only cover the circles diagonally from the upper left corner to the bottom right corner.  When the Ferro piece was dry, I cut down the panel with the largest SSS Stitched Rectangles die.

I trimmed a scrap of teal cardstock to 1″ x 4.25″ then stamped the sentiment from SSS Peace on Earth in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with Ranger Silver Super Fine Detail embossing powder.

I adhered the Ferro panel to an A2 top-folding Aqua cardstock base with Tombow Mono Multi Glue, then popped up the polar bear piece and the sentiment strip with strips of 3M foam tape.  Finally, I added a single snowflake flat sequin from the Pretty Pink Posh Winter Snow Mix to the edge of the polar bear piece with Ranger Multi Medium Matte to finish the design.

I am also submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Christmas).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper 110 lb Gray cardstock, Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombré cardstock pack

Leave a Reply

