Sending You a Latte Thanks

One of my card-making goals for 2016 is to make multiple cards in one sitting.  I tend to only make cards for a specific person or purpose (i.e.: birthday, wedding) and the box I keep my extra cards in is pretty empty now that the holiday season is over. While I will strive to make each card unique by using different color palettes or layout placements, I also think it’s okay to replicate a good card design in times of need (or lack of creative inspiration)! 😉

My go-to card design usually involves making cards with frames and layers.  As I looked back on all of the cards I made in 2015, I noticed I created only a single one-layer card…which happened to be for a one-layer card challenge!  (One-layer is definitely a challenge for me!)  Here are the cards I created for the current Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge (Wonderful One-Layer):

 

I started by creating a side-fold A2 card base from Neenah Solar White cardstock.  I created a stencil using the Simon Says Stamp Coffee cup die and Inkadinkado stamping mask paper.  After removing the backing paper, I placed the homemade stencil in the middle of the card front and used sponge daubers to apply Simon Says Stamp dye inks to color in the mug and heart.  I used Lavender and Hot Mama inks on one card, and High Dive and Hollyhock inks on the other.

I cut apart one of the sentiments from the Simon Says Stamp What’s Brewing? stamp set and stamped it above and below the mug using Versafine Smokey Gray ink.

Finally, I used the second largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles die with a Sizzix Texturz Silicone Rubber mat to emboss a double stitched frame around the mug and sentiment.  I used Tab 1 of the multi-purpose platform and the following sandwich from bottom to top: cutting plate, silicone rubber mat, cardstock (card base), die, cutting plate, cardstock shim.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

