Welcome Little One

I recently hosted a baby shower for one of my coworkers who is expecting her first child — a girl who she plans to name Jade!  My coworker’s favorite color is green, so I knew I wanted to incorporate green on her baby shower card somehow.  (I later learned she’s not the biggest fan of pink, oops!)  I made a tri-fold card for the occasion and brought the card to work for all of the employees to sign prior to the shower.  Unfortunately, in all of the shower planning chaos, I forgot to take a picture of the card!  (I had to ask my coworker to send me pics of the card after the shower, which she so graciously did.)

image

I began by blending Cracked Pistachio Distress Ink onto Neenah Solar White cardstock in an ombre fashion — I inked the top of the cardstock with a heavier hand and slowly faded the color out towards the bottom of the paper.  I then used the largest Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangles Stackable die to cut out a focal panel from the ink blended cardstock.  Next, I heat embossed the sentiment from Hero Arts’ Little One using Versamark ink and Ranger Silver Embossing powder.

I stamped the adorable bunny from Mama Elephant’s Carnival Cupcakes onto Neenah Solar White cardstock using COPIC-friendly My Favorite Things Bubblegum hybrid ink.  I attempted to use COPIC Sketch Markers to color in the bunny using the no-line technique to achieve a soft look to the image.  (I must have colored in at least 6 bunnies before I was happy with the finished result!)  I drew the facial features back in on the bunny using a black Jelly Roll pen and a pink Prismacolor colored pencil.

I used 2 drops of Spun Sugar Distress Ink refill solution to add color to Dreamweaver’s White Embossing Paste, then spread the colored paste over Simon Says Stamp’s Falling Hearts Stencil (after masking off the sentiment and leaving a place to put the bunny).  I let the paste dry overnight, then adhered the bunny to the card using Tombow Mono Multi Glue.  Finally, I adhered the focal panel to a tri-fold 5.25″ x 6.5″ card base with Tombow Mono Multi Glue.

image

2 thoughts on “Welcome Little One

  1. quilterlin says:

    I love your card, a beautiful jade color and the tiny hearts are sweet. I think the pink bunny is perfect! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

