Happy Baaahthday

I recently watched the Shaun the Sheep Movie, which is up for Best Animated Feature in this weekend’s 2016 Academy Awards ceremony.  I LOVED it — I was in awe that a film with no dialogue could be so funny, entertaining, and full of so much heart!!  Here is my Shaun the Sheep inspired birthday card:

image

I tried to color of the sheep to resemble Shaun the Sheep using Warm Grey COPIC Sketch Markers and also used a Marvy Uchida Snow Marker to get a puffy fleecy look.

I was unable to get the look I wanted for the cupcake and candle through masking, so I ended up cutting a small slit in the cupcake top with an X-acto knife and poked the candle through the opening…Perfect!!

I blended Shaded Lilac, Tumbled Glass, and Spun Sugar Distress Inks to create the background, and Cracked Pistachio Distress Ink onto the grassy hill.

I created the custom sentiment by mixing and matching sentiments from Lawn Fawn’s Hello Baby, Baaah Humbug, and Baked With Love stamp sets…I was pleasantly surprised to find that the scripty phrases from Baaah Humbug and Baked With Love matched up perfectly!!

I am submitting this card to the current Lawnscaping Challenge:

image

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: COPIC Sketch Markers, Darice 2mm 9″ x 12″ white foam sheets, Play Shop Paper 67 lb cream cardstock, X-acto knife

Leave a Reply

