Hippo Birdie To You #2

Here is my second entry for the current Lawnscaping Challenge:

image

image

I die cut a panel of black cardstock using the second largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles die and a background panel from Neenah Solar White cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangle Stackables die.  I placed the white background panel face down on the My Favorite Things Balloon Strings background stamp which I had inked up with Lawn Fawn Black Licorice ink.  My stamping wasn’t perfect, so I used a black COPIC 0.5 Multiliner pen to fix any area that did not stamp out completly.

I stamped the bird and hippo from Lawn Fawn’s Year Four onto Neenah Solar White cardstock using Memento Tuxedo Black ink and colored in the images with COPIC Sketch Markers (individual colors used are listed below).  I also used a black Jelly Roll pen to go over the eyes of the bird and hippo for extra emphasis.  I used the Year Four coordinating die cuts to try to cut out the image using the partial die-cutting technique but wasn’t entirely successful — the bird die cut into the hippo’s back a little bit. 😦

I stamped the banner from Lawn Fawn’s Penelope’s Blossoms onto a scrap of teal cardstock using Versamark ink and heat embossed the banner with Simon Says Stamp White embossing powder.  I then stamped the sentiment in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder.  I used the coordinating die to cut out the banner.

I arranged the bird and hippo and the banner onto the black panel to help me determine the placement for the balloons, then stamped the balloons in Versamark ink and heat embossed them in white.  I mixed small amounts of Perfect Pearls in Forever Red, Grape Fizz, and Mint into water, then used the Perfect Pearls solution to color in the balloons.  Once the Perfect Pearls were dry, I adhered all of the elements together using Tombow Mono Multi glue.

I am also submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge (Sparkle and Shine) and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Cute and Cuddly).

Thanks for for stopping by!!

Other supplies: COPIC Sketch Markers (BG23, BG34, YR23, W1, W3, W5), Play Shop Paper 65 lb black cardstock, Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombre cardstock pack, Sakura Jelly Roll 08 black gel pen

8 thoughts on “Hippo Birdie To You #2

  1. quilterlin says:

    Adorable design, love the background balloon strings! Thanks for playing along with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

