Sending Hugs

I’ve been trying to do a better job of organizing all of my stamps and craft supplies, and found that I have WAY too many stamps that have never been inked up…I need to remedy this ASAP, and will make more of an effort to reach for my older unused stamps instead of my newest goodies.  I decided to start this self-imposed challenge by using a stamp set I picked up last year at a local rubber stamp expo —  the Hero Arts Real High Country Wildflowers wood-mounted stamp set.

image

First, I die cut a focal panel from Canson 140lb Cold Press watercolor paper using the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles die.  I cut a mat for this panel from green patterned paper using the largest Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables die.  I also die cut the Lawn Fawn Scripty Hugs die from purple cardstock three times, then stacked and glued them together for added dimension.

I colored over the Wildflowers stamps with Distress Markers, then “huffed” on the stamps to add some moisture before stamping the images onto the watercolor panel.  I then used a Pentel Aquash water brush to further soften the stamped images and achieve a faux-watercolor look.

I used Lawn Fawn Black Licorice ink to partially stamp the sentiment from the Lawn Fawn Hedhehugs stamp set, then adhered the Scripty Hugs die cut stack underneath that.  Finally, I adhered the watercolor panel to the green patterned paper mat, and the green patterned paper mat to a light gray cardstock card base.

I am submitting this card to the current SSS Wednesday Challenge (Stamp It), and SSS Flickr Challenge (Anything Goes), and SSS Work It Wednesday Challenge (Use Stamps).

Thanks for stopping by!!

Leave a Reply

