Danke

I recently returned from a family vacation in Germany and needed a card to give to my cat-sitter.  I just received a complimentary “Danke” stamp with my last Lawn Fawn order and was happy to be able to put it (along with my new Lawn Fawn goodies) to use so soon!

I created the card below for the current Lawnscaping Challenge:

image

I had the idea to create a Venn diagram-inspired design for the Geometric challenge, and thought that I could do some ink blending with red and yellow inks to achieve an orange color in the overlapping areas…While this didn’t quite work out, I did end up loving the orangey-red tinged circles that resulted from my using the same stencil to blend the Dried Marigold AFTER I had blended on the Fired Brick.  (It reminds me of the inside of a nectarine!)

I first used the Simon Says Stamp Stitched Circles dies to create stencils from Post-Its.  I also die cut the focal panel from white cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangles Stackables die.

I used a T-square ruler to draw guidelines for the center of the card, then placed the smaller circle stencil over the card center.  I erased the pencil lines before blending on Scattered Straw Distress Ink because I wasn’t sure if they would show through the lighter colored ink and if I would be able to erase them cleanly without smudging the distress ink.  I used the larger circle stencil with Fired Brick and Dried Marigold Distress Inks, and kept replacing the stencils to go back and forth between the colors to try to achieve an evenly blended look.

While the ink blended panel dried, I stamped my images onto Neenah Solar White cardstock using Memento Tuxedo Black ink and colored them in with COPIC markers (individual colors are listed below).  I then used the coordinating dies to cut out all of the images.

After adhering the images to the centers of the circles with Tombow Mono Multi glue, I stamped the Danke sentiment in Versafine Onyx Black ink and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder.  The panel looked a little empty, so I stamped the small leaf from Jump for Joy in Simon Says Stamp Lipstick Red, Orange Peel, and Sunshine inks, cut them out with the coordinating die, then arranged them to create a border for the card.   I also noticed that I had somehow gotten ink smudges along the outer border of the panel (darn those inky fingers!) so I blended Scattered Straw Distress Ink all along the outer edges of the panel to hide the smudges as best as I could..  This turned out to be a happy mistake — I think this ink blending really helped to warm up the card!  Finally, I adhered the focal panel to a side fold A2 white card base.

I am also submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge (Capture the Colors of Fall) and Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday (Red, Yellow, Orange, Brown).

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Core’dinations 110 lb white cardstock, Stampendous Clear Embossing Powder, COPIC Sketch Markers (Fox: E11, E21, E15, E19; Owl: E31, E33, E37, E39, W5, W7; Squirrels: E25, E29)

2 thoughts on “Danke

Leave a Reply

