Congratulations

One of my favorite cousins is getting married in a few weeks and I have the honor of serving as one of her bridesmaids.  I decided to create an elegant wedding card for her using her wedding color palette — navy blue and blush pink with gold accents.

I used the A2-panel sized stitched rectangle die from WPlus9’s Gift Layers die set to cut out a focal panel from navy cardstock.  I also cut out a 3/4″ x 6″ strip of blush cardstock with my paper trimmer then used the same stitched rectangle die to cut down the strip to 5.5″ long and add a stitched detail to the ends.

I positioned the crane from Altenew’s Ori Kami stamp set on my MISTI, prepped the navy cardstock with the embossing powder tool, then stamped the crane onto the panel using Delicata Golden Glitz ink.  I coated the stamped image with clear embossing powder then heat set the image.  I created two stencils of the crane using Post-It Notes and saved the negative images to use as masks.  I masked off the stamped crane then stamped and heat embossed a second crane above it in the same manner.  I placed the stencils over each crane and used a sponge dauber to add color to the images.  I used the Gold Sheer Shimmer Spritz spray to add some additional gold accents to the panel then let everything air dry.

I used the MISTI to position and stamped the sentiment onto the blush cardstock strip in Versafine Onyx Black ink and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder.  I attached the sentiment strip near the bottom of the panel and added a scattering of gold sequins trailing from the cranes.

I adhered the navy focal panel to an A2 top-folded landscape white cardstock base with Tombow Mono Multi glue then left some heavy acrylic blocks over the panel overnight to try to correct the warping of the cardstock that resulted from the sponging on of the gold pigment ink.

I am submitting this card to the Altenew Ultimate Challenge Blog Hop.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies:
Core’dinations 110 lb white cardstock, Recollections 65 lb Cape Cod cardstock pack, Sierra Pacific Crafts 12″ x 12″ Blush cardstock, Stampendous Clear embossing powder, gold sequins

Leave a Reply

