2016 Holiday Card Series #1: Warm Holiday Wishes

Welcome to the first post in my 2016 Holiday Card Series!   I plan to create (at least) 12 unique holiday projects and post them on my Flickr account and blog every week until Christmas.  I’ve decided to further challenge myself these next 12 weeks to fulfill at least one of the following criteria with each project:

1. Make coordinating card and tag sets

2. Use non-traditional holiday colors

3. Utilize non-holiday stamps

When creating holiday cards, I find myself automatically gravitating towards a blue and silver or white color scheme.  In an effort to break out of my shell I decided to use a grey and purple color palette for this first holiday card.

img_2341

I began by cutting my focal panel from grey cardstock using the WPlus9 A2 sized Stitched rectangle die from the Gift Card Layers die set.   I also trimmed a strip of lavender cardstock to 3/4″ x 6″ then ran it through my Big Shot with the same stitched rectangle die to add the stitching detail to the edges.

I created a custom background using the snowflakes from Avery Elle’s Noel stamp set and pigment inks.  I stamped the largest snowflake using Avery Elle Pixie ink in two of the corners of the panel, then layered the other snowflakes over and around those images using Avery Elle Sugar Plum ink and Mama Elephant Plumberry ink and Sweet Lilac ink.

While I let the pigment inks dry, I stamped one of the penguins from Avery Elle’s Penguin Greetings stamp set onto Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock using Memento Tuxedo Black ink.  I colored in the penguin using COPIC Sketch Markers (individual colors are listed below) then cut out the image with the coordinating die.

I stamped one of the sentiments from Penguin Greetings onto the lavender cardstock strip using AE Sugar Plum ink, then heat set it with clear embossing powder.   I trimmed down the sentiment strip and cut one end into a banner shape.

I attached the penguin to the sentiment strip with Tombow Mono Multi glue, then adhered the sentiment strip to the focal panel with foam tape.  I wrapped some American Crafts purple twine around the top of the panel and tied the ends into a bow.  Finally, I added double sided tape to the back of the panel to secure the twine then adhered the focal panel to an A2 top-fold white card base with Tombow Mono Multi glue.

img_2342

Since I had stamped and colored two penguins, I decided to make a coordinating gift tag as well.  I cut out a tag base from the same grey cardstock as my focal panel using the largest Avery Elle Gift Tags die.  I also cut out a tag base from the same lavender cardstock I used for the card sentiment strip to glue to the back of the grey cardstock tag to provide some additional support.  I stamped out the snowflakes using the same ink colors (minus the Pixie ink) but this time die cut the word “warm” from maroon cardstock and stamped the rest of the sentiment underneath it.  Finally, I looped the same purple twine through the tag opening to complete this project.  (Criteria 1 and 2…CHECK!)

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Core’dinations 110 lb White cardstock, Play Shop Paper 110 lb Grey cardstock, Lavender cardstock, Maroon cardstock, COPIC Sketch Markers (BV00, BV02, W1, W3, V09, V17, Y17), Stampendous Clear Embossing Powder, American Crafts purple twine, Meriken 7/16″ Double Stick tape

Leave a Reply

