2016 Holiday Card Series #2: Merry & Bright

My order containing a set of Claritystamp stencil brushes arrived this past week from Simon Says Stamp and I couldn’t wait to try them out!  I watched a bunch of YouTube instructional videos on them, then decided to christen them along with the Tim Holtz Holiday Knit stencil I got last year but never (successfully) used on a card.  I decided to play along with the current MFT Wednesday Sketch Challenge:

img_2664

img_2700

I began by brushing Simon Says Stamp Smoke ink over the Tim Holtz Holiday Knit stencil onto a scrap of Neenah Solar White cardstock.  I used the smallest Claritystamp stencil brush in the set to do this due to the intricate nature of the stencil.  Next, I cut out a panel from the stenciled piece using the second smallest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle die.  I also used the largest SSS Stitched Rectangle die to cut out a panel from Bazzill Card Shoppe Red Hots cardstock, and the stitched rectangle die from WPlus9’s Gift Card Layers die set to cut out a panel from light grey cardstock.

I used my MISTI to position and stamp the sentiment from My Favorite Things’ Joyous Christmas Sentiments onto the stenciled piece in Avery Elle Cherry pigment ink.  I heat embossed the sentiment with clear embossing powder to help it stand out from the stenciled background.

I stamped the SSS Wide Stripes Background Stamp with SSS Lipstick Red ink onto the red cardstock piece for a tone on tone look.

I adhered the light grey cardstock panel to an A2 side-fold white card base, then centered the red striped panel onto it.  I tied some metallic red cord around the bottom of the stenciled piece, then attached it to the red striped panel with foam tape.  Finally, I added a scattering of Pretty Pink Posh Sparkling Clear sequins to complete my card.

I am also submitting this card to the following challenges:

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday October 2016 (Use a SSS branded product)

img_2671

img_2702     sss-monday-challenge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper 65 lb grey cardstock, Stampendous Clear Embossing Powder, Metallic red cord

5 thoughts on “2016 Holiday Card Series #2: Merry & Bright

Leave a Reply

