Give Thanks

I originally had this card idea for my 2016 Holiday Card Series (using last year’s Simon Says Stamp/Lawn Fawn collaboration stamp set Merry Christmouse), but decided to switch it up and instead make a thank you card for my cousins who are hosting us for Thanksgiving this year.  I am playing along with the current Lawnscaping Challenge:

img_2708

img_2766
Using Thankful Mice from Lawn Fawn, I began by creating post-it masks of both mice and 4 cheese slices.   I did a practice run of my little scene on some scratch paper to help me determine spacing and give me an idea of the order in which I would be stamping all of the images.  I’ve never done so much prep for a card design before, but I really think it paid off in the end!  Once I had my practice guide complete, I used my MISTI to help me position and stamp all of the images in Memento Tuxedo Black ink onto a panel of Neenah Solar White cardstock (cut using the second largest Stitched Rectangles Stackable die).  I also stamped the sentiment in Lawn Fawn Black Licorice ink.

I colored in all of the images using COPIC markers and used a black Gelly Roll pen to go over the eyes of the mice.

I selected a plaid patterned paper that I thought matched the color of the cheese and cut out a panel using the A2 sized Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables die.  I also used to the largest Small Stitched Rectangles Stackables die to cut out a panel from Bazzill Smoothies Raspberry Splash cardstock to layer between the plaid paper and the focal panel.   I adhered the plaid paper to an A2 side-fold white card base with Tombow Mono Multi Glue, then added the Raspberry cardstock at an angle and finally the focal panel centered onto the card front.  I added a small heart to the end of the sentiment using Guava ink and covered the heart with a layer of Clear Wink of Stella.

I *thought* I had finished the card, but after mulling it over for another day I decided the card looked a little too plain for my liking… I solved my dilemma by placing a few coats of Glossy Accents to the cheese slices to give them some added interest and dimension and my card was (FINALLY!) complete.

img_2767

I am also submitting this card to the following challenges:

sss-monday-challenge      sss-wednesday-challenge

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Bazzill Smoothies Raspberry Splash cardstock, Colorbok Light Bright 6″ x 6″ paper pad, COPIC Sketch Markers (Cheese: Y19, Y35; Mice: BG10, BG11, C7, C9, N0, R11, R21, W3, W5, YR23)

2 thoughts on “Give Thanks

  1. smouwen says:

    What a darling card, the mice are so cute and love the gloss finish of the glossy accents on the cheese. Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

