2016 Holiday Card Series #3: Merry Christmas

While I haven’t participated in every day of the 30 Day Coloring Challenge this month, I did opt to turn off the tv last night, sit down, and practice no-line COPIC coloring.  I chose to color the adorable mouse from Paper Smooches’ Santa Paws stamp set.  

I stamped the mouse onto Neenah Solar White cardstock using Memento Desert Sand ink (although if I practice with this image again, I would try using Memento Bahama Blue ink instead).  I colored in the image with COPIC markers, then drew in the nose, eyes, and tail with a black COPIC Multiliner pen.

img_2788

I used the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle die to cut out a panel from Canson watercolor paper, then blended Mermaid Lagoon and Tumbled Glass Distress Inks onto the panel in an ombré fashion.  I added water droplets over the ink blended area, then blotted up the water with a tissue after about 30 seconds.  I LOVE that the result looks like a snowfall background!!  Although I had originally planned to stamp and emboss some snowflakes onto the ink blended area, I decided to nix that idea because I didn’t want to cover up any of the background.

I stamped the sentiment from SSS Be Joyful onto a scrap of teal cardstock using Versamark ink and heat set it with silver embossing powder.   I trimmed one end of the sentiment strip into a flag shape and added a stitching detail to the other end with the SSS Stitched Rectangle die.  I mounted the sentiment strip and the mouse to the focal panel with foam tape.

I cut out a panel of cream cardstock using the stitched rectangle die from WPlus9’s Gift Card Layers dies, them adhered the cream panel to an A2 side-fold white card base.   Finally, I centered the ink blended panel onto the cream panel to complete my card design.  I love the simplicity of this card…I think it really lets the background and no-line colored image be the stars of the show!

I am submitting this card to the current SSS Flickr Challenge (Take Some Time to Color) and SSS Wednesday Challenge (Christmas Critters).

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Recollections 65 lb Blue Ombré cardstock pack, Play Shop Paper 65 lb Cream cardstock, COPIC Sketch Markers (N0, N2, N4, R11, R21)

2 thoughts on “2016 Holiday Card Series #3: Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

