Thanks so much

One can never have too many thank you cards, especially with the holidays upon us!!   I decided to play along with the current My Favorite Things’ Sketch Challenge and make a clean and simple thank you card:

img_2790

img_2798

I began by using the A2 sized panel die from MFT’s Blueprints 26 to cut my card front from Canson Watercolor paper.  Next, I used the third largest MFT Stitched Rounded Rectangle STAX to lightly outline a guide for my stamping with a pencil.

I used a large flower and small flower image from MFT’s Watercolor Flowers to stamp 3 flowers of each size in pink and red Distress Inks — bottom layer = Spun Sugar, middle layer = Worn Lipstick, top layer = Festive Berries.  I was pleasantly surprised to see how solidly the Distress Inks stamped out!  I sprinkled some embossing powder over the images to test the Distress Inks for dryness, then set aside this panel to air dry since the powder was really sticking to the images.

I returned to the panel after about an hour, tested it again with embossing powder and after a successful test went on the finish the card.  I used my MISTI to position and stamp the sentiment from MFT’s Written in Watercolor in Versamark ink, then heat set it with Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder.

I used the third largest Stitched Rounded Rectangle STAX to die cut around the stamped flowers and sentiment.  Once this was done, I went back in with one of the smaller flower centers (from Watercolor Flowers) to add a line of dots below the die cut panel.

I rounded the bottom corners of an A2 top fold white card base with a Corner Chomper, then adhered the watercolor card front to the card base with Tombow Mono Multi Glue.  I added some scraps of red foam foam to the back of the stitched rectangle piece with Ranger Multi Medium Matte and attached that in a “reverse inlay” manner.  I like that some of the flower petal edges ended up outside of the stitched panel — this added some nice dimension to the card!

I will definitely try to recreate this card using different color families of Distress Inks and maybe ink up more of the panel with flowers… I love how the embossing powder looks over the stamped images!

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Darice red fun foam sheets

Leave a Reply

