2016 Holiday Card Series #5: Peace on Earth

Merry Christmas everyone!!  While I didn’t meet the goals I had set for myself for my 2016 Holiday Card Series, I did learn that I need to start working on my holiday cards earlier next year…

img_2996

I used the stitched rectangle die from WPlus9’s Gift Card Layers die set to cut out a focal panel from Neenah Solar White cardstock.  I blended on Dusty Concord, Chipped Sapphire, and Black Soot Distress Inks to create a night sky, then added flecks of white paint from my cheapie Crayola Watercolor set.  I think I flicked my brush with a little too much enthusiasm because I ended up dropping the brush onto the panel THREE TIMES!!  I tried to blot out those blobs with a dry paper towel immediately, but ultimately decided that I would need to cut the panel down to “save” it.  I let the panel air dry then used the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Oval die to cut out the most usable part of the panel.

I stamped the images from Paper Smooches’ A Blessed Christmas onto Neenah Solar White cardstock with Memento Tuxedo Black ink, colored the images with COPIC markers (individual colors used are listed below), then cut them out with the coordinating dies.

I die cut the Paper Smooches Cityscape die from
black cardstock, then used the SSS Stitched Oval die to add a curved stitched line to the bottom of the die cut.  I adhered the Cityscape die cut to the ink blended oval, then stamped the sentiment in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with silver embossing powder.

I used the WPlus9 stitched rectangle die to cut out 3 panels from grey kraft cardstock, then cut out the centers of each panel with the SSS Stitched Oval die.  I stacked the 3 frames and glued them together using Tombow Mono Multi Glue.  I adhered the stacked frames to a top-fold A2 card base made from white cardstock, then I laid the ink blended oval in the center.  Finally, I attached the angel to the card front using a combination of Tombow MMG and homemade glue dots.

Here is the accompanying tag made using Paper Smooches’ Gift Tags 2 dies:

img_2997

I am submitting this card to the current SSS Flickr Challenge (Anything Goes) and SSS Work It Wednesday November 2016.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: Recollections 65 lb Grey Kraft cardstock, COPIC Sketch Markers (Angel: 0, B00, BV00, BV02, E000, E02, Y13, Y15; Dove: 0, G07, G09, W1)

Leave a Reply

