I Love Mew

Happy (belated) Mother’s day!  This is the card I made for my mom this year, which features some of her favorite things (cats, roses, and jewelry) and one of my favorite techniques — ink blending!  I am submitting this card to the current MFT Wednesday Sketch Challenge and MFT Color Challenge:

IMG_3602IMG_3608

IMG_3607

First, I stamped the sassy cat from MFT’s Cool Cat onto Bristol Smooth cardstock using Versafine Onyx Black ink.  I let the ink air dry for an hour or so, then did some quick shading with ZIG Clean Color Real Brush markers and blended out the colors using a water brush.  I used the coordinating dies to cut out the image and set it aside.

I die cut the focal panel from white cardstock using the largest SSS Stitched Rectangle die, then placed it over the MFT Roses All Over Background stamp which I had inked up with Versamark ink.  I covered the panel with SSS White fine detail embossing powder then heat set the panel.  I then blended on Picked Raspberry Distress Ink and MFT Bubblegum and Orange Fizz hybrid inks over the roses using the smallest Claritystamp stencil brush.

I assembled the card by adhering MFT Steel Grey cardstock to cover the front of a side-fold A2 white cardstock base, then placed the roses background panel over that.  I used the second largest SSS Stitched Rectangle die to cut out a vellum panel that would help to mute the bright and busy background.  I also used SSS Stitched Circles dies to create a frame for the cat, and the smallest SSS Stitched Rectangle die to hold the greeting from MFT’s I Knead You.  I glued the vellum panel to the roses background panel with a ZIG 2-Way Glue pen, and hid the adhesive behind the circle frame, cat, and sentiment.  I also placed 2 small dots around each of the corners of the vellum piece and I was pleasantly surprised to find they didn’t show through the vellum at all!  Finally, I added some Clear Wink of Stella to the cat’s necklace to complete this card.

I am also submitting this card to the current SSS Flickr Challenge (Favorite Technique = ink blending).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: ZIG Clean Color Real Brush Markers (Light Grey, Light Pink, Pink), Paper Accents Light White vellum

Leave a Reply

