Birthday Wishes

I’m gearing up for a busy holiday season full of cardmaking!  I’ve been brainstorming ideas for my upcoming 2017 Holiday Card Series, but put a pause on that today to create the card below.  This week at work we will be celebrating Halloween and the birthdays of 2 of my coworkers (one of whom was actually born on Halloween!)  I’m anticipating fun times and yummy treats ahead!!

IMG_3925

I had my cheapie Crayola watercolors laying around my craft area, so I grabbed them and created a quick watercolor background on Canson watercolor paper using only the red, pink, and peach colors.  I let the piece air dry, then die cut lots of roses using the Paper Smooches Roses die.

I cut a focal panel from white cardstock using the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles die, then adhered the roses using Ranger Multi Medium Matte.  I flipped the panel over, trimmed off the parts of the roses that were hanging over the panel edge, then attached this panel onto a card base made from Bazzill Card Shoppe Cotton Candy cardstock.

I stamped the sentiment from Paper Smooches Party Posse using Versamark ink onto a strip of Bazzill Smoothies Raspberry Splash cardstock, then heat set it with white embossing powder.  I adhered the sentiment strip to the focal panel with Glossy Accents because I knew it was a strong adhesive and would stick well to both the focal panel as well as the die cut roses.

I am submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge (Monochrome) and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Anything Goes).

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Bazzill Smoothies Raspberry Splash cardstock, Crayola 24-count Washable watercolors

Leave a Reply

