Penguin birthday

I had stamped and colored the penguin image used in the card below last week intending to use it for the current My Favorite Things Color Challenge, but was stumped on how to complete the card.  Luckily I (finally!) had a rush of inspiration and was able to complete the card in time to also submit it to the current My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge:

MFT_ColorChallenge_PaintBook_85

MFT_WSC_368

IMG_4454

I stamped the images from My Favorite Things’ Penguins in Paradise onto Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock using My Favorite Things Black Licorice Hybrid ink, colored them in with COPIC markers, then used the coordinating dies to cut out the images.  I also stamped the bottom half of the penguin again onto a scrap of Lawn Fawn patterned paper, fussy cut the swim trunks, then paper pieced it onto the penguin image.  I stamped the sentiment onto a banner made from Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock using Versafine Onyx Black ink and trimmed one of the edges into a banner shape.

I used one of the smaller My Favorite Things Stitched Circle STAX dies to cut out a circle from Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock then blended on My Favorite Things Orange Fizz dye ink and Simon Says Stamp Sunshine ink.

I cut out a panel from Bazzill Smoothies Waterfall cardstock using the largest My Favorite Things Stitched Rounded Rectangles STAX die.  I inked up the My Favorite Things Balloon Strings Background with My Favorite Things Summer Splash dye ink, then placed the Waterfall panel face down over the background stamp.  I love how truly versatile this background stamp is — when turned 90 degrees, the balloon strings now resemble waves!

Finally, I cut out a panel from yellow shimmer cardstock using the largest Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles die and assembled the card using Tombow Mono Multi Glue.  I popped up the penguin slightly using homemade glue dots made from Aleene’s Tack-It Over & Over.

I am also submitting this card to the current Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge (Add a Sentiment).

Thanks for stopping by!!

 

Stamps: My Favorite Things Penguins in Paradise, My Favorite Things Balloon Strings Background

Dies: My Favorite Things Stitched Circle STAX, My Favorite Things Stitched Rounded Rectangles STAX, My Favorite Things Penguins in Paradise Die-namics, Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles

Ink: My Favorite Things Black Licorice Hybrid ink, My Favorite Things Orange Fizz dye ink, My Favorite Things Summer Splash dye ink, Simon Says Stamp Sunshine ink, Versamark Onyx Black ink

Paper: Bazzill Smoothies Waterfall cardstock, Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock, Sierra Pacific Crafts yellow shimmer cardstock, Lawn Fawn Beachside Pint-Sized Patterns 6 x 6 paper pad

COPIC Sketch Markers: Penguin = E50, E51, T5, T7, T9, YR16; Ball, Popsicle = R24, R29

Adhesive: Tombow Mono Multi Glue, Aleene’s Tack-It Over & Over

Misc: MISTI, EK Success tweezers, Ranger Mini Ink Blending tool

2 thoughts on “Penguin birthday

  1. inkyfingersandribbon says:

    So so cute ! Love how you have coloured this cutie.Thank you for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge x

    Like

Leave a comment