Birthday Flowers

I’m so glad my staycation this year coincided with the 2018 Winter Olympics.  Of course, that did mean that I didn’t accomplish much on my long vacation to-do-list unless I could do it in front of the tv!  The MFT 2018 Creative Olympics Event #4: Speed Cardmaking challenge fit in perfectly with my schedule today and I was able to create the following card:IMG_4653

I used to follow the 10-minute card challenges on the Pretty Pink Posh YouTube channel, so I knew one of the keys to completing a card in the 20-minute time frame was preparation.  I thought the smartest way for me to approach this challenge was to stick with stamping images only…no time-consuming coloring for me!  I decided to use my beloved MFT Watercolor Flowers stamp set and pre-selected ink combinations of orange/yellow and blues, and also picked out some orange, yellow, and blue cardstock colors from my stash.  (I also had some blue twine handy I thought I might use as an embellishment, but did not end up using it since I decided to go with the orange/yellow color palette.)

I was definitely leaning towards the yellow/orange combination because I knew I wanted to make a cheery birthday card.  I wasted quite a few minutes debating the order of my inks, and then I decided to omit the third flower layer to make up for that lost time.  I stamped each flower layer assembly-line style which happily went quite quickly.  I could definitely see myself doing a similar challenge on my own every month to help replenish my depleted card supply.  The time limit pushed me to focus on a plan of action before starting and helped me make quick decisions instead of agonizing over what to do next.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Stamps: MFT Essential Sentiments, MFT Watercolor Flowers

Dies: MFT Cross-Stitch Rectangle STAX

Ink: MFT Orange Fizz hybrid ink, MFT Peach Bellini dye ink, Wild Honey Distress Ink, Versafine Onyx Black ink

Paper: Play Shop Paper 67 lb Cream cardstock, Sierra Pacific Crafts Orange cardstock, Sierra Pacific Crafts Yellow sparkle cardstock

Adhesive: Tombow Mono Multi Glue

Leave a comment