2015 Holiday Card Series #1: Joy

This year’s Simon Says Stamp STAMPtember collaboration with Lawn Fawn (Merry Christmouse) was hands down my favorite release of the month!  Christmas is a little more than 10 weeks away, and I need to get started on my holiday cards NOW if I hope to finish them on time this year.  Here is a card I made featuring one of the adorable Lawn Fawn mice to kick off my 2015 Holiday Card Series!

image

I began my cutting my focal panel from Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Small Stitched Rectangle Stackables die. In the center of the panel, I traced around a circle die very lightly with a pencil to create a guide to help me when stamping my wreath.

To create my wreath, I first stamped a few leaves from Lawn Fawn’s Penelope’s Blossoms in Memento Luxe Northern Pine and Memento Luxe Olive Grove inks over the pencil line. Next, I stamped the mouse in the middle of the wreath with Memento Tuxedo Black ink and colored him in using COPIC markers. Then, I continued to fill in the wreath with the leaf stamps and stamped the berry clusters on top using Memento Luxe Love Letter ink.

I die cut the Lawn Fawn Scripty Joy word from gold foil cardstock then carefully cut the letters apart. (Tip: My Big Shot cutting plates are very well-loved and consequently left indentations on the foil cardstock. Next time I die cut foil cardstock I will be sure to use the smoothest sides of my plates to avoid messing up the rest of the paper). I adhered the “j” and “y” around the wreath using my ZIG 2-Way Glue pen.

I adhered the focal panel to a red A2 size cardstock base, then added Xmas Red Stickles to the berry clusters and a red ribbon bow to the wreath. Finally, I used a Black Jelly Roll 08 pen to go over the mouse’s eye and nose to complete my card.

I am submitting this card to the current Lawnscaping Challenge (Sentiments).


Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: Play Shop Paper 80 lb red cardstock, COPIC Sketch Markers (W1, W3, W5, R20), Sakura Jelly Roll 08 black pen, 1/4″ red ribbon

Leave a comment