2015 Holiday Card Series #2: Up on the House Top

I recently found myself wondering whether the line in the Christmas carol was “Up on the house top reindeer pause” or “reindeer paws” and the idea for this card was born!!

image

I began my card by die cutting two panels from Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock using the largest Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables die. I then cut a snowy bank from one of the panels using a Lawn Fawn Stitched Hillside Borders die. I created my own blended background on the other panel using Chipped Sapphire, Broken China, and Tumbled Glass Distress Inks.

I stamped the reindeer from Paper Smooches Santa Paws and the houses from Paper Smooches Bitty Bungalows onto white cardstock using Memento Tuxedo Black ink then colored in the images with COPIC Sketch Markers (individual colors used are listed below). I used the coordinating Santa Paws Icons die for the reindeer but fussy cut the houses and brushed the edges with a Memento Tuxedo Black marker to cover up any white edges. I stamped my custom sentiment on the snowy bank using Paper Smooches Mini Minograms and Versafine Onyx Black ink. (I actually found it easier to stamp one letter at a time instead of mounting multiple letters on a block to stamp at once.)

I attached the snowy bank to the distress ink background panel with Tombow Mono Multi Glue and adhered all of the other elements with DIY glue dots I created with Aleene’s Tack It Over & Over. (I added drops of Tack It Over & Over to the waxy side of an old sticker sheet in varying sizes and let them dry until clear.). The glue drops provide a subtle dimension but should still allow this card to hold up well in the mail (fingers crossed).

To finish the card I added Glossy Accents to the reindeer noses and went over the reindeer eyes with a Sakura Gelly Roll 08 black pen.

Thanks for stopping by!

Other supplies: COPIC sketch markers (Houses: B12, B14, C1, C5, C7, G00, G02, G05, N0, N2, R24, R27, R29, Y21, Y23; Reindeer: C5, C7, E31, E33, E35, E37, E39, R24, R27, 0)

Leave a comment