Congratulations Grad

Graduation season is quickly approaching…I have two cousins who are members of the Class of 2017 and will be closing out their high school years in just a few weeks.  This motivated me to participate in the current Lawn Fawnatics Challenge and I came up with a clean and simple design that I really like:

I stamped the images from Lawn Fawn’s Jump for Joy and Smart Cookie with SSS Intense Black ink, colored them with COPIC markers, then cut them out with the coordinating dies.  (Note: my cousin’s school colors are maroon, gold, and white.)

I had planned to make a walkway for the owl out of washi tape, but found I didn’t have any maroon or gold tapes in my stash.  Luckily I found a washi tape-esque stamp in the SSS Sending Happy Thoughts stamp set!  I used my Misti to help me line up the stamp then stamped it once with Versamark ink and heat-embossed it with gold embossing powder.  I then shifted the card front and stamped it a second time with Lawn Fawn Chili Pepper ink.  I stamped the sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Penelope’s Blossoms with Lawn Fawn Black Licorice ink.

I knew I wanted a clean and simple design, but wanted to create a backdrop for the owl.  I tried to create an ink-smooshed background initially, but when I used the Chili Pepper ink to do so it ended up looking more like a bloodstain!  Not exactly the congratulatory feel I was going for…  I ended up using a Clarity Stencil Brush to add SSS Sunshine ink to create a halo around the owl and I liked that so much better.

I adhered the owl to the card front with homemade glue dots, then added some gold sequins to complete the design.  I attached the card front to an A2 side-fold card base made from Neenah Solar White 110 lb cardstock.

I am also submitting this card to the current SSS Wednesday Challenge (Anything Goes) and SSS Flickr Challenge (Anything Goes).

Thanks for stopping by!!

Other supplies: COPIC Sketch Markers (Owl: E42, E43, E57, E59, W7, W9; Cap: C5, C7, C9, R59; Diploma: 0, C0, C1, Y17, Y19)

inlinkz coming soon…

7 thoughts on “Congratulations Grad

  1. Nancy Krueger says:

    Really wonderful card! I love the clean and simple design with the pretty yellow highlight! Thanks for sharing with us at Lawn Fawnatics!

    Like

  2. quilterlin says:

    A fantastic CAS card for a graduation, Ali! Love that little stripe that you grounded him with! Thanks for sharing your work with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a comment